Saturday, December 07, 2013

EP Review: Bruise Banner

Title:  Bruise Banner (BandCamp)
Artist:  They Stay Dead (Facebook, Twitter, BandCamp, ReverbNation, Tumblr)

Edmond, OK’s favorite sons They Stay Dead have returned with a brand new song “Bruise Banner” to celebrate the return of founding member Dave Klein on bass guitar.  After spending the last nine months playing bass in Black Flag, Klein is back in OK and back with They Stay Dead.  Their new song “Bruise Banner” is a killer blast of melodic hardcore driven by double barrel guitar work of Danny Black and Matt Owsley and the thundering rhythm section of John Hernandez on drums and Klein on bass.  They Stay Dead is so incredibly tight as a band, you’d never know that Klein had been gone for three-quarters of a year.  The only downside to the Bruise Banner EP is that it only contains one song.  Luckily the band is hard at work on material for a full-length to be released in 2014.  Man I can’t wait!      

No comments: